iCate

laid off and learning to love it… my journey from corporate sprinter to life marathoner

sahm: sing it, mama 08/24/2009

Filed under: Activities,Laid Off,Parenting,SAHM Choice — ccatet @ 10:07 am

i have always liked to sing. i usually sing in the car and around the house, especially when music is on. now that i am home full time, my kids now hear me sing – a lot. at first, my son was NOT a fan. he would often tell me to stop singing. as you can imagine, this did not go over well.

he used to really hate it when groups of people sang songs, especially “happy birthday.” at his 2nd birthday party last november, he actually cried when everyone started to sing to him! my husband and i talked about it and we knew there was something wrong but we didn’t know how (nor did we really have time) to try to figure it out with both of us working full time.

when i was first home with them, i started putting music on a lot: in the car, in the house, and for no reason other than for background sound. i sang along and was often told to stop. but i kept going. i found some tunes for him – silly kids songs that were still tolerable for adults (ex. laurie berkner, justin roberts). i referred to this music as HIS music. i think it worked.

amazingly enough, in the past 6 months, i have been so fortunate to witness my son overcome his social dislike of singing. and to top it off, he sings himself! his mind is like a steel trap so if i stop singing mid-song, he can finish almost every verse. his vocabulary has expanded one hundred times over, just from lyrics.

we now sing constantly. he asks for his music and wants it turned up louder. he yells, “sing it, mama!” if it’s a favorite song of his. we sing together. it’s awesome.

the best part is that for my birthday 3 weeks ago he actually sang to me, by himself, at the breakfast table that morning. i cried. one of my best mommy moments ever.

sometimes you don’t know how to *fix* or work through an issue or phase with your kids… you just live your life and hope it works itself out. i don’t think this one would have worked itself out this quickly or with as much enjoyment (for both of us) had i still been working.

so for this alone, i want to say thank you to my former employer for laying me off. totally worth it.

 

3 Responses to “sahm: sing it, mama”

  1. teambaby Says:

    One of my earliest memories is getting really distressed when my family started singing “happy birthday,” bursting into tears and hiding under a table. LOL. I don’t remember why, but I remember I really hated it. I think it only happened once.

  2. Jonghee Says:

    Wow what a story! Touching, moving and inspiring. Keep up the great work Cate!!!

    Jonghee

  3. Nedi Lehr Says:

    Hi Cate- It was so nice to see you, Mike, and the kids at the fire station open house last weekend. Here is my email address, please keep on touch. Since you are such a great source for fun activities, let me know if you hear of kid-friendly events in Worthington on the weekends. FYI- I have really enjoyed reading your blog- it is an interesting and different perspective to hear from someone who was working while having young kids and is now staying home. You definitely have some great ideas that all moms can use. Take care and hope to see you again soon. Nedi


Leave a Reply

